ISTPC 2017

2nd edition of the International summer School in electronic structure Theory: electron correlation in Physics and Chemistry (ISTPC)

Date: June 18th - July 1st, 2017

Location: Centre Paul Langevin, Aussois, Savoie, France.

Latest news

03/07/2017: Thanks to the lecturers and the participants for making the second edition of the ISTPC a friendly and successful scientific event ! Here are the group pictures:

13/04/2017: The participants can now send to (replace VED by @) a one-page abstract (in pdf format) for the poster session that is scheduled on June 27.

16/03/2017: The deadline for early bird registrations is postponed to April 30th, 2017.

06/09/2016: The poster for advertizing the school is now available here.

04/09/2016: The registration form for the ISTPC 2017 is now available in word and pdf formats.

29/06/2016: Lecture notes from the previous edition are available online.

Scientific motivation

The summer school is opened to PhD students, post-docs and researchers using or developing methods for electronic structure calculations. One of the motivation for organizing such a school is to stimulate discussions between chemists and physicists on the problem of electron correlation.

ISTPC 2017 is sponsored by the national research groups (GDRs) “Correl and “REST .

The following topics will be covered:

Second quantization, density functional theory (DFT), time-dependent DFT (TD-DFT), Hartree-Fock (HF) and post-HF methods, multi-configurational methods, multi-reference perturbation theory, model Hamiltonians, linear response theory, basics in solid-state physics, Green functions, Quantum Monte Carlo (QMC), density matrix renormalization group (DMRG), Random Phase Approximation (RPA), GW method, Bethe-Salpeter equation, Dynamical Mean Field Theory (DMFT), Mathematical aspects of electronic structure theory, reduced quantity functional theories.

Tutorials will be proposed every afternoon so that the participants can derive the key equations presented during the lectures. “Poster” and “evening discussion” sessions will also be organized.

Welcome to ISTPC 2017 !

Confirmed lecturers:

Vincent Robert, University of Strasbourg, France
Emmanuel Fromager, University of Strasbourg, France
Thierry Leininger, University of Toulouse, France
Celestino Angeli, University of Ferrara, Italy
Nathalie Guihery, University of Toulouse, France
Julien Toulouse, Université Pierre et Marie Curie, Paris, France
Xavier Blase, Institut Néel, Grenoble, France
Michel Caffarel, University of Toulouse, France
Eric Cancès, École des Ponts ParisTech, France
Fabien Bruneval, CEA, Gif-sur-Yvette, France
Matteo Gatti, École Polytechnique, Palaiseau, France
Francesco Sottile, École Polytechnique, Palaiseau, France
Bernard Amadon, CEA, Bruyères Le Châtel, France
Markus Reiher, ETH, Zürich, Switzerland

Organizing committee:

Emmanuel Fromager, Vincent Robert, Julien Toulouse and Francesco Sottile.


Paola Sager


Sylvie Fersing

istpc2017/start.txt · Dernière modification: 2017/07/03 15:03 par fromager     Haut de page
Recent changes RSS feed Creative Commons License Donate Powered by PHP Valid XHTML 1.0 Valid CSS Driven by DokuWiki Design by Chirripó